Get by with a little help from my friends

I’ve never been one for the bliss of domestic trappings like cleaning, but darn it, I like Heloise. If you’ve ever read Good Housekeeping, then you know who I’m talking about. There’s this super chick named Heloise who gives advice on how to get stains out of clothes and get crayon off the walls. Heloise is a friend to every klutzy girl who ever left a candle unattended next to beige carpet!!! Check out her page here. Thanks to the wonder of modern science, I avoided losing a chunk of the security deposit on my rental house by getting candle wax off my carpet ASAP. Sweet! Who knew what you could do with an iron and some paper towels? Makes me rethink my strong dislike for cleaning…almost.

Anyway, that aside, I’ve noticed something lately. I have watched more of my friends go into despair, or sin, or some other pit just waiting to swallow them whole in recent months than I ever have. And for some reason I feel like I could have done something. Namely pray for them. There is a spiritual battle going on in our world today for the souls of the saints. God has a special calling on each of our lives, but each life must be bathed in prayer to be effective in the kingdom. God is calling out those who are willing to follow. The question is simple: Are God’s chosen people, his warriors, ready to raise up and fight? The answer may not be easy for some; nevertheless, it is there. Take a moment to protect a friend with prayer today. Don’t just say you are going to pray for them. Stop right where you are and call down fire from heaven. We have no idea the effect our prayers can take when we have the boldness to step out in faith.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

