L-I-V-I-N’

So I’m at home in Mobile right now, doing to the visiting thing. I haven’t been here since December, so it’s a little odd. I’m so out of the loop on a lot of things. All my cousins are having babies I’ve never met, and cousins are getting married. Life goes on…but where the heck have I been? This weekend I attended a wedding and a funeral. The wedding was planned, the funeral…well, we never plan for those, now do we?

One set of grandparents announced that they are hopping in their RV and heading to Alaska in a few months. This worries me a little because the last time they were out West, my Paw Paw had a heart attack on some mountain, and Granny had to drive the RV back down to get help. He’s not exactly in great shape after a few heart surgeries, and the doctors have told him they won’t operate again. Too much scar tissue, not enough heart. Who knows how much exertion he can actually stand? But the more I live, the more I see that people have to keep living, even if they could die tomorrow. Knowing my Paw Paw, he would waste away much faster if he sat in his recliner at home instead of packing up the RV for one last trip west.

I think it was Matthew McConaughey as Wooderson in Dazed and Confused who said, “You just gotta keep livin’ man. L-I-V-I-N.” Wise words for someone who was hitting on high school chicks well into his 20’s.


Remember Wooderson?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

