They need your time

Forgive me, I’ve been a little out of pocket. I spent Saturday, Sunday and part of today in Ocean Springs Mississippi helping families clean out their flooded homes in the wake of Hurricane Katrina. Honestly, I can’t even begin to tell you of the devastation I found there. I heard tales of people staying in the houses, riding in canoes in their living room until the flood got to high and they were forced to swim out the front door and out to the roof. I’ve seen wealthy people who had everything living in devastation, and I’ve seen old men living in swamped out rooms full of mold, just waiting for help to arrive.

It’s so strange, because in a way, I don’t even feel like we did anything, but then again, maybe we did everything simply by doing what we could. This morning we helped a dad and his three kids turn a two-day job into a two-hour job. Our crew personally gutted between six and eight homes in three days time. That’s not a lot, but hopefully those who we helped will now be able to help their neighbors get back on their feet as well. So if you have a weekend to give, consider going to the Gulf Coast to help. They need our money and our supplies, but honestly, they have all they need right now. What they need most of all is our time.

I’ll have some vignettes I wrote up on here in a day or so, and hopefully some pictures I took. Stay tuned.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “They need your time

  1. johnnelson6656

    i thought your blog was cool and i think you may like this cool Website. now just Click Here

Leave a Reply

