A middle finger to the book banners

Hooray! It’s Banned Books Week! I saw this on Nashville Is Talking, and I had to link it. Bibliophile that I am, I have read many of the classics on the most contested list.

No, I haven’t read Heather Has Two Mommies, and I don’t intend to. But why in heavens would you ban something by Judy Blume? Or Mark Twain? Or Harper Lee? Or Maya Angelou? Kids have to be exposed things in the world. I think it’s up to the parent to decide if their children are mature enough to handle subject matter, but kids need to read about things that come up as life experiences. My mom actually encouraged me to read To Kill a Mockingbird when I was younger. She read it along with me, and we discussed why people in the book acted the way they did. I’m from Alabama. You see racism everywhere. What better method than a book to point out the flaws of that viewpoint?

L’Engle, Twain, Vonnegut, Lee, Salinger, Blume, even Shel Silverstein…those have been my lifeblood, my lesson teachers. I would feel a little lost without them.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

