Tom Petty is a genius.

“The waiting is the hardest part.”

Tommy boy, you couldn’t be more right. As we speak, I am waiting on a letter that will send me to England on a merry six-month journey, or keep me here in Tennessee. I’ve been waiting on this letter since late July, and understandably, my patience is wearing thin.

Just this morning I went out to the mail room, only to find the letter lady putting mail in all the boxes. I contemplated a full-on assault which would send letters and magazines, junk mail and newspapers, flying in all directions. The letter will be mine! HA HA!!!

OK, so I didn’t do that, but I was thiiiiis close. Instead, I stood there while she went through to other sets of boxes. She must get this all the time, because when she came to my box, she simply gave me a knowing smile and handed me my mail.

But the letter I desperately need was not there. I think this has to be a conspiracy of Royal Mail and U.S. Postal to drive me to the point of insanity. Under normal circumstances, I am thrilled to get my copy of Sports Illustrated. There’s a great article on Yao Ming this month. Too bad it has to be ruined by a simple letter that determines the future course of my life.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

