Hello? Anyone home?

It’s very sad to walk into my apartment at the moment. There are just a few scattered remains of what used to be my life there. It feels a little hollow, a little echo-y, and quite frankly, I’m not ready to go in and finish the job. Of course, it’s not like I have an option. My lease is up Monday.

The dilemna with the lease is I really need to be here three more weeks so I can help round out the football season. I would hate to leave DD in a lurch, and quite frankly, I would feel like my job as a sports reporter was incomplete if I didn’t finish. So in the mean time, my friend Kara has so graciously offered me a bed. The bonus feature is that Kara lives with her parents, so I get homecooked meals for the first time in seven years or so. Sweet.

From here, I go to North Carolina for a visit with my best friend. Then I end up in Mobile, or as I like to call it, The Big Suck, for two months until I leave for England.

In all fairness, I think Mobile has changed a lot, which will result in less suckage. Plus, I’m not an awkward teenager anymore. No getting picked on and dealing with teenage angst. It’s just hard going home when the memories of your former hometown are less than sunny. My mom wonders why I dread being there. And honestly, I wish I could put it into words.

Whoever said you can’t go home again is right. But that’s my only option.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Hello? Anyone home?

  1. Franklin Kool Aid

    Will you continue to post to the blog?

Leave a Reply

