Final curtain call

The week isn’t over yet, but I have to say this has to be one of the best “last weeks” I’ve ever experienced in my history of moving. For one thing, I don’t have the pressure of packing, because I lost my apartment two weeks ago. Everything is either in Mobile, or it’s in the back of my car. For another thing, I don’t have any exams to deal with. It leaves me a little time to goof off and enjoy the whole process. I have something going on about every night this week, including tonight when I go to Rocketown to see some friends play. If you’re in the vicinity, go see Forever Changed open for Showbread. It’s going to be a great show.

Monday night, I invited friends to come out and celebrate my last Monday in Nashville. I was expecting more people, but the 12 or so who did show up represented all the different phases of my stay here in Nashville. It was strange seeing co-workers talking to coffee house friends, a girl from my new church chatting with a friend my old church. But at the same time, it was fulfilling. Like my life here in Nashville was sitting around the table, encouraging me as I move on.

I had a great opportunity to talk to a friend who lost his job at the same time I was quitting mine. It heartened me to know he is well on his way to finding a new place where he will be appreciated. I still can’t figure out why anyone would want to be rid of such a talented man. Well, no, I can, and it boils down to jealousy. Sad, but true.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Final curtain call

  1. Anonymous

    Lauren, i miss your beautiful writing in the paper. You always added a human side to so many things that you wrote about.

    I will keep in touch with you through this means of communciation.

    Load that Ipod up before you go overseas and know that the music will flow through you if you allow your spirit and heart to feel it.

    Best wishes for a safe journey,
    Your friend without jealousy and the man you speak of in your entry nov. 9

Leave a Reply

