Knit one, purl two

It’s very strange for me to be in a place where I know next to no one. I miss th days of driving three minutes to Starbucks and running into 10 people. Since I haven’t lived in this area for over seven years, the phone is *almost* never for me. (My brother receives 65 percent of the phone calls in this house…my mother 33, my dad and I split the other 2 percent.) This leaves me with a lot of down time. I would write about it on this blog, but quite frankly, the object is not to bore you to death.

It’s amazing what you can do when you have scads of free time on your hands.
This past weekend, I taught myself to knit from a book. Yep. I taught myself. From a book. I think my eyes are eternally crossed as a result. Not that this new-found skill makes me trendy. I know I’m a couple of years late for that. Nothing new there. I decided it would be a good activity to use when I’m stuck on a plane for 15 hours or so. And it’s cold in England. My skills will come in handy to keep myself warm in the damp frigid icebox that is the English winter.

Since I’ve been home, I’ve also taken to driving down old side streets in my hometown and going past places that I haven’t seen in years. A trip to my old elementary school revealed an entire NEW school that I didn’t know about, built across the street to house the third, fourth and fifth graders. The area around my old middle school is still a wretched, run-down area of town, but at least they’ve gutted the projects across the street for renovation.

I have 22 days left until I get on a plane. I wonder if I have enough time to learn a martial art…

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Knit one, purl two

  1. Franklin Kool Aid

    Come on now … go get yourself some crawfish (even though horribly out of season) and some other good coastal/creole food and get over the hump.

    I bet many people don’t know that Mobile is where Mardi Gras originated.

    Man! I can’t wait to hit Orange Beach this summer.

Leave a Reply

