I don’t usually fill out surveys. I think they are a complete waste of time. But I saw this one on my friend Brad’s blog and decided to fill it out as my year in review. It’ll save me some time trying to sort through my year in essay form. Yep, I’m lazy. Get over it. On with the stolen survey!

1. What did you do in 2005 that you’d never done before?
Signed up to do mission work overseas
Went homeless for a month (crashed at a friend’s house)
Ordered my first Mac computer
Learned to play golf
Won a long drive competition in a golf tournament
Tore sheetrock out of houses
Learned to knit

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I didn’t make any resolutions last year because I usually forget them after the first month. I just plan on making general improvement throughout the year, getting closer to God.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
My friends are churning ’em out. My cousin, best friend’s sister, others are still pregnant, etc. etc.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
A family friend

5. What countries did you visit?
Just took some trips in the US. I went to Mississippi after the hurricane to gut moldy houses. I took my first trip to North Carolina, and saw UNC and Duke. Went to St. Louis for a Titans football game. My next big trip is England on January 10.

6. What would you like to have in 2006 that you lacked in 2005?
A greater understanding of my faith, and a nice young man to date.

7. What dates from 2005 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
June 18 (my best friend’s wedding), September’s hurricane, Nov. 14 (my going away party in Nashville), Nov. 20 (Ben Folds show, my last night in Nashville)

8. What were your biggest achievements of the year?
Getting accepted to YWAM, really getting into my job as a sports writer. Learning to golf and knit.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Leaving some things undone when I finally left my job.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Not really. Not at all, in fact.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
My iBook.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?
Anyone who lent their time and efforts to aid those who fled after hurricane Katrina.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?
Anyone who took advantage of a bad situation after hurricane Katrina.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Rent. But no more!

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Getting accepted to YWAM. I did a little dance around my bedroom when I found out.

16. What song will always remind you of 2005?
“In Motion” by Copeland

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder?
Happier, definitely, since I’m following God’s path for my life.
b) thinner or fatter?
A little thinner since I moved home.
c) richer or poorer?
I started off richer, but I am decidedly poorer now that I am unemployed.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
I wish I had spent more days outdoors enjoying creation.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
I could have spent less time on the Internet.

20. How will you be spending New Year’s Eve? (edited due to season)
I’ll be spending New Year’s Eve at the beach with my friend Kara, who is driving down from Tennessee. I’m sure we’ll stay in the hot tub way too long and stay up way too late.

22. Did you fall in love in 2005?
That would be a big negative. I have yet to meet the perfect boy who is willing to put up with my shenanigans.

23. How many one-night stands?
That would be an even bigger negative.

24. What was your favorite TV program?
Good Eats, Project Runway, and Laguna Beach (My guilty pleasure. You know you couldn’t stand Kristin either.)

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
I don’t hate anyone, but certain people have helped me increase my dislike for them.

26. What was the best book you read?
The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe (for about the 15th time), and Notes From a Small Island by Bill Bryson

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Copeland rocks my face off. They’ll do the same for you!

28. What did you want and get?
I wanted to go to YWAM, and I wanted a new computer. I got both!

29. What did you want and not get?
I wanted someone to date who was worth my while. Oh well. There’s always next year.

30. What was your favorite film of this year?
Three words for you: Pride and Prejudice. One more word for you: Narnia.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 26, and I went to a Christmas performance done by the University of Mobile Choir.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
I should have read my Bible more, and spent more time in prayer.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2005?
Be young, stay young. Be practical, because you never know when you might have to cross a muddy football field.

34. What kept you sane?
My crazy fun job as a sports writer, and all my fabulous friends at church.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Eh…a certain really nice guy I met who’s in this band. Eh…can we not talk about this?

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
People who can’t see past their political agenda to help people.

37. Who did you miss?
My friend Katye and my friend Tara. One lives far away. The other one lives far away and got married.

38. Who was the best new person you met?
Kara O. That chick rocks.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2005:
Let yourself love. Don’t be hampered by past mistakes in the dating department.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
“You have my attention
Like a shout through an empty sanctuary
Speak but a whisper
And I’ll hear a sermon”
– Copeland, You Have My Attention

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “

  1. Anonymous

    I was looking for blogs about martial arts and came across yours. Great blog you got. I have a website somewhat related you might find interesting.

Leave a Reply

