Airplanes, bombs and Winston Churchill

Alas, no pictures as of yet. I have to find a WiFi source so I can rig up my computer to send them. So hang in there.

The plane ride over was probably the easiest I’ve ever had. I drank a lot of water, and slept a little, which gave me some energy to face the day. I met a couple in the Chicago airport who are heading to Afghanistan to run a school. It was neat to come in contact with some friendly faces who are doing mission work like myself.

When I finally reached London, which took less time than I expected, I got settled, then set off. Today I went to the Churchill Museum and Cabinet War Rooms. The Churchill portion of it has some amazing interactive displays. It took me a while to get through that, since I’m such a nerd. In the center of the room there is a long table with an interactive image projected onto it. You can look at pictures and letters from Churchill, and you might even find some surprises, like bombing the whole table with a nuclear bomb. Someone set that one off, the table turned white, and announced the number dead in Hiroshima. It gave me chills.

I had a good day, but I’m getting tired now, and feeling a little scratchy throat setting in from going in and out of doors. The Brits crank up the heat in winter inside, which knocks you over everytime you come in from the cold. Just one of the many quirks I will have to adjust to in the coming months.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

