Jane Austen would be proud

I’ve always wanted to tramp across the English countryside like Jane Austen’s characters and today I got the chance. I also got a glimpse of what it might have looked like when Elizabeth Bennett showed up at Netherfield to care for her sister. Her petticoat certainly would have been covered in three inches of mud. At least I had some hiking boots to keep my feet dry.

I prayed a selfish prayer as I stood at the top of a long hill near the manor, watching an army of angry grey clouds march across the sky. I simply prayed that the sun would come out. I don’t need much, just one clear day to clear my head of the cobwebs an English winter can bring. It’s a selfish prayer, but God hears even those, and so I’ll wait.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

