Reclaiming my life…as if I ever had one

Today I was reading on a old friend’s blog that we spend most of our time viewing life through a screen…whether it’s television, computer, whatever. It’s completely true, not disagreeing at all. But I think it sparked something inside of me. Since I got back from Indonesia, I have been gorging myself on television and Internet access. I would go so far as to say that I’ve developed a bit of an addiciton, to the abandonment of everything else I love (writing, reading, studying the Bible, etc.) Part of it is a bit of loneliness, wanting to feel a connection with someone, anyone. My parents spend most of their time at the beach, which leaves me here at home trying to fill that time between work and bed time with something to stave off the loneliness. When I should be embracing the time I have.

So here’s the deal. Tomorrow I start reducing my incessant TV and Internet habits. I’m not making any promises my first day out, since I do work in front of a computer for six hours a day. Besides, Project Runway, the one show on TV that I actually set aside time to watch every week, comes on tomorrow. Can’t miss that. So we’ll start easy. Let the purge begin.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Reclaiming my life…as if I ever had one

  1. Lu

    Could be a reaction to reverse culture shock too, maybe? It’s hard when you first come back from overseas. You’ve grown and changed so much that it seems you no longer fit with all your other relationships, or with the world you once knew. It’s all the same, but you are not. TV and internet is a way to escape the pain that comes from that realization.

    Also, its kind of a backlash from not getting tv for so long — at least that’s the way it was with me when I came back from India. TV starvation led to TV binging when I got home.

    Give yourself some grace, and a little time. You’ll eventually get used to the changes in you and come to terms with your environment.

    But yeah, defintely stay engaged with the world around you. Stay engaged with the relationships you kept up with while you were gone (and work on creating new ones). You will all eventually figure out how you fit together in this new phase of your life.

  2. Nicholas Roussos

    Funny thing is that I’m actually drawn to Project Runway as well. I can’t figure it out. It seems like I’m at a stage in my life where I understand the direction of almost any TV show and thus am willing to contently watch it.

    Except House MD… I’ll never get over what they did to that show.

  3. Anonymous

    This is very interesting site… » »

  4. Anonymous

    Where did you find it? Interesting read »

  5. Anonymous

    Keep up the good work » » »

Leave a Reply

