Skull stuffing

It feels like my head is stuffed with socks this morning. The annual sinus infection has arrived! Really, it’s like tax season. You know it’s coming, you have to deal with it, but you just pray that somehow you’ll get a letter in the mail saying you have received immunity for the year. Oh well. I’m spending the day writing this blog (which I haven’t done in ages, except to talk about football) and folding clothes…as you may notice, both of these are not exactly in the category of ‘strenuous.’

New topic. It’s strange living in Alabama. I forgot how…how…normal it could be. People are so normal, they have jobs at banks and insurance companies. And they wear sensible, no-nonsense clothes. They talk about the local school system and the new house they bought in their nice, stable neighborhood. It’s driving me absolutely bonkers. In Nashville, even the lowliest box boy had some dream of being a musician or producer. People met at coffee shops and talked about bands no one has heard of and world issues, even they had normal 9-to-5 jobs. They tussled and tugged with life a little more, and went out on a limb. They wore cool clothes and took risks to get where they were. I miss it so much.

Now, there’s nothing wrong with being normal. It would be great to live out a normal life in a little hometown an have a house and raise the kiddies, but I just don’t think that’s the place where I am called to be. Sometimes I feel like an outsider among the normal people, because they don’t take weird and embrace it along with the normal. They think everyone wants to fit in and look like conservative clones. It’s just not going to happen. I want to be who I am, and if that scares some people, so be it. Maybe they will learn how to walk a little further from the conventional and discover something new.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Skull stuffing

  1. Michael

    Sorry to hear you’re not feeling good. I’ve been trying to not catch some crud that is going around middle Tennessee for about a week now. Between exercise, eating right and hopefully enough OJ, it seems to be working….

    And I will say I am one of those who did not move to Nashville for a career in the music business. I can’t sing worth a hoot….LOL

Leave a Reply

