Hooray for pomegranates!

It’s pomegranate season, people! If you’re one of the many who have not tried nature’s little jewels of wondrousness, get thee to Fresh Market, post haste! But Lauren, you say, I haven’t the foggiest how to attack this odd, red fruit. (My friend, a definite foodie, said this to me just the other night.)

Well, I’m here to help. I have only recently discovered them myself, and I looked them up on the Internet to see how to attack. I found various methods, but I liked this one best:

1. Cut out the spiky top.
2. If you look at the pomegranate from the top, it has the vague shape of a stop sign. Make a 1/4 inch cut between each set of “corners” from the top to the base, making sections, like you would do an orange.
3. Stick your thumbs into the hole on top, and pull apart the sections.
4. Carefully (the juice stains) break off the red arils, or seeds, into a bowl.
5. Eat them by the handful, and as an extra treat, refrigerate them before eating.

If you want to get fancy with recipes, go here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

