Year in Review, 2006

So this is very late, but I figured I would post it anyway. 2006 was more than I ever imagined it could be. Because of it, I’m walking into a completely different life, and for that, I am truly grateful.

1. What did you do in 2006 that you’d never done before?
Went to Spain, Malaysia and Indonesia
Lived in a village in Indonesia
Took a bath in a public bathing area
Learned to surf
Lived in three different locations in one year
Went to California
Gave away furniture

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I don’t generally make resolutions, although I do have one this year. But I can’t tell you what it is.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
My friend Tara is pregnant, my cousin Carrie is pregnant, etc. etc. I’m at that age. Thankfully, I am not pregnant.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
No one close to me…

5. What countries did you visit?
I went to England in January, and lived there for three months. I took a weekend trip to Valencia, Spain. Then I traveled to Malaysia, and on to Indonesia, where I visited the islands of Nias and Java. When I got back to the States, I took a trip to California.

6. What would you like to have in 2007 that you lacked in 2006?
Actually, I would love to be lacking about 15 more pounds than I have right about now.

7. What dates from 2006 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
January 14, the day I left for England. July 3, when I went to California. Can you tell I’m not a history major?

8. What were your biggest achievements of the year?
Not getting sick while I was in Indo. Learning to surf. Finishing DTS.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Not getting even more out of being in foreign countries.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
I got major sick in England. Half the school required upchuck buckets.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
My new beach cruiser bike.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
My whole Indo crew. They were always completely honest, and cared more about other people than themselves.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
O.J. Simpson.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Gas money. I didn’t really have much money, but at least I didn’t have to pay rent.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Getting accepted to work in California.

16. What song will always remind you of 2006?
“Be My Escape” by Relient K

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder?
Happier! I’m ready to get into my new job.
b) thinner or fatter?
A little thinner, and growing more so by the week.
c) richer or poorer?
I’ve been poor, and my condition hasn’t really changed much.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
I wish I had spent more days outdoors enjoying creation.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
I could have spent less time on the Internet.

20. Did you fall in love in 2005?
Erm, no. Do you know anyone who might be interested in dating a cute, slightly eccentric writer/music buff?

21. How many one-night stands?
Wrong.

22. What was your favorite TV program?
My Boys, Ace of Cakes, Project Runway, Top Chef, What Not to Wear

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Not really, but some folks make it hard to like them.

24. What was the best book you read?
Fitzwilliam Darcy, Gentleman and The Great Divroce by C.S. Lewis

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Deas Vail

26. What did you want and get?
My brother gave me a Bose docking station for my iPod, and he didn’t even know I wanted it.

27. What did you want and not get?
I didn’t win a million dollars or a dream house. That would have been nice.

28. What was your favorite film of this year?
I didn’t really watch too many movies since i was out of the country. I loved Tsotsi, which I saw in England.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 26, and I went to a Christmas performance done by the University of Mobile Choir.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
There was nothing I could have done to make this year a bigger success than it was.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2006?
The “staying warm in a cold house, hiking through a jungle” ensemble through June, then the “practical, yet stylish” look.

32. What kept you sane?
My crazy fun job as a sports writer, and all my fabulous friends at church.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
I limited myself to real people crushes this year, although Dierks Bentley is one hot tamale.

34. What political issue stirred you the most?
Our over-concern with “should we-shouldn’t we” war issues, and our underconcern with helping others.

35. Who did you miss?
I missed Kara, but that’s about to change, since we’ll be in the same city for a while.

36. Who was the best new person you met?
All my DTS pals. They came from the Netherlands, Germany, Canada, U.S.A., Denmark, Finland and England, and they made my year.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2006:
When you put others before your own needs, you will feel much better.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
“Last week found me living for nothing but deadlines,
With my dead beat sky but, this town doesn’t look the same tonight
These dreams started singing to me out of nowhere
And in all my life I don’t know if I’ve ever felt so alive, alive.”
– Switchfoot, Awakening

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

