Landed

I made it. I landed, crawling on my belly, on the sands of the Western shore. And let me tell you, it is a strange place indeed.

One of the first things my new roommates and I noticed (they’re Canadian) is that there are quite a few socially awkward people living in the Central Coast of California. Even when you’ve been introduced by someone you have in common, they don’t know what to say, so they sort of gawk at you awkwardly while you try to drum up something to say. Very nice. I guess in Nashville, it’s all about who you know, so you never miss the opportunity to meet people.

Second, I may be in the running for the Sketchiest Neighbors title….although it will be a tough race since Rachel over at Charming Accounts of Tediousness lived next door to a pervert/swinger/sketchwad landlord. Nevermind. I’m a distant second. But so far the neighbors have stared at us creepily through their blinds, and sat with one foot hanging out the door frame, but not actually on the porch. There are lots of toys in the front yard, but no signs of children. Oh, and imagine my surprise when I opened the curtains on my window, and there on the fence sat this creepy plastic pony covered in grime. It was a gray day, and there was definitely a “Watcher in the Woods” vibe.

The house we’re living in leaves a lot to be desired, and it cost us a lot more than a house in that condition should, but that’s the Central Coast for you. You could invest in a beach shack, and the rent would still be over $800. I’m just happy to be here, and happy to get started in the ministry I came to do.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

