The Gospel of Day Planner

Sometimes old-school ideas have merit. Take the day planner, for example. Your life, written out before your eyes, showing you what comes next and helping you remember what you did last night. Back in my university days, my day planner went with me everywhere. Newspaper meetings, tour guide hours, radio show, it was all there. I don’t know what I would have done if I had lost it. There were days where I would go to the radio station at the crack of dawn and not finish until 1 or 2 in the morning, with hardly any breaks.

I had a friend in college who was a bit of a big stuff on campus. He was in charge of the campus tour guide group where I worked a couple of times a week, in addition to leading Camp War Eagle, the freshman orientation program. Add senior projects, and I think he pretty much never slept. One evening he was working on some stuff for orientation, and he happened to leave his planner in the office, which ended up getting locked before he could return to get it. He came into the recruiting office the next morning with a huge grin on his face. I asked him what was up. He told me he had left his planner and it was the happiest night of his life. “I knew I had stuff to do,” he said, “but I couldn’t remember what it was, so I sat on my couch and watched TV, then went and had coffee with a friend.”

I have determined that it may be necessary for me to go back to the way of the day planner. Otherwise I’m going to keep getting buried under stuff that doesn’t matter, and the things that do matter will never get done. If that makes sense….

1 Comment

Filed under Brain Purge

One response to “The Gospel of Day Planner

  1. kazzles

    Your post got me thinking, I used to be obsessive about using my diary, all through University and most of my twenties. Lately I’ve got more relaxed (and I don’t think I’ve really replaced it with anything electronic) and I’m sure I’ve lost a lot of focus. Maybe I should go back to carting that big diary around?

Leave a Reply

