Southern Special

For those who are wondering, I’m still in Alabama, but almost done with my time here. It’s been refreshing and relaxing to be at home, see my family and just have a good time. For those I haven’t gotten to see, I am truly sorry. This trip has been jam-packed. I’m learning to limit myself while I’m visiting so I don’t experience burnout like I have in the past. Please, catch me when I return for Christmas. 🙂

Tonight I went out with an old family friend to the Blue Gill to see the Tip Tops play. It was a spontaneous, last-minute decision, and totally worth it. I’m pretty big on planning, but you can’t beat an unplanned moment of bliss. The Tip Tops play everything from Prince to The Temptations, so the crowd was very diverse. That’s one thing I miss about Alabama: black, white, young and old all mixing together. When I moved to California, I was surprised at the “white bread-ness” of it all, but that’s the Central Coast for you.

The Blue Gill has an awesome view of the Mobile River delta off the back deck. The band played outside, and it was a pretty big crowd for a Sunday night. Ashley and I saw some unexpected friends, some of which I haven’t seen in several years, some I saw at my 10-year high school reunion last week. The crowd was um, well-lubricated, by the time we arrived. Combine that with friendly Southern manners, and we were constantly entertained. It was swampy, sticky and muggy, as it always is, but for once, I didn’t mind. It was simply a reminder of where I come from, and how down to earth everyone can be. In all honesty, I’m ready to get back to work in California, but there’s always a little part of me that is reserved for Mobile.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

