A new love affair?

This post is not about what you think it’s about….haha… 

It’s about missions. ;0) I am a missionary, and while I am very adventurous, and have a desire to see as much of the world as I can, there are some places I have never had a desire to go. I’ve been pretty iffy about going to India.

In fact, missionaries tend to fall into two categories when it comes to a place like India – they are either waaay into it, and love everything about it, or they have no desire to go there. I have been in the latter category. I don’t know why, but it could be the slight feeling of claustrophobia I get just looking at pictures of India. And I’ve heard a few stories about the tremendous heat and overwhelming smells, and it just gets to me.

Tonight, however, I saw Slumdog Millionaire, and I felt this little spark in my heart. There was something about the people, the warmth, and the desperate need of so many of the people shown. I still may never go, but now I am beginning to wonder if I should. Hmmm….a passion for India developing? Perhaps!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “A new love affair?

  1. I was scared of India too-and then I went and it was terrifying in the best way possible.

    Everyone should go to India-everyone.

  2. clarityamongconfusion

    Yes ma’am!

    We’re sending a DTS team there this year. I’ll have to look at pictures and hear stories, and maybe that will get me a little more psyched.

  3. Sometimes those practical reservations are worth listening too. My wife wouldn’t deal well in extreme heat either. Of course, India is a big country, and there are probably places that aren’t so sweltering.

Leave a Reply

